Barcelona normally battle with Real Madrid for the title, but this time their challenge came from Madrid's other team!

LA LIGA 2013-14

SEASON WHEN...

WHY IT MATTERED

It was all change in Spain this season! For the first time in ten years the La Liga title was not won by either **Real Madrid** or **Barcelona**. Instead it was **Atlético Madrid** who triumphed. It was Atlético's tenth championship in total and their first one since 1996! Diego Godín celebrates his famous goal!

THE STORY OF THE SEASON

The big three clubs all took turns as top dog. **Barcelona** began in a sensational way, beating **Levante** 7-0! They were 6-0 up by half-time, then had a rest for most of the second half. Barça were top for the first

21 matches until losing 3-2 to Valencia. Atlético replaced them but dropped to third after being beaten 2-0 by Almeria.

Like Barça, **Real Madrid** were scoring freely and got their chance to be leaders in February but were knocked off the top after a sensational 4-3 home defeat by Barcelona, with Lionel Messi getting a hat-trick! Atlético led until the last day when they played Barcelona in the Nou Camp! Barça needed to win and led 1-0 at half time. But in the 67th minute a header from defender Diego Godín gave Atlético the draw – and the title! A week later, Godín gave Atlético the lead against Real in the **Champions** League final but Real equalised in injury time

Barcelona 2-1 in the

Spanish Cup final.

JCCO

Heartbreak for Lionel Messi Messi League final but Real equalised in injury time and went on to win 4-1! Real had already beaten

Diego Godín rises highest to head

Atlético to the title

GA

- 1 Atlético Madrid (C) 38 38 2 Barcelona 38 3 Real Madrid 4 Athletic Bilbao 5 Sevilla 6 Villarreal 7 Real Sociedad 8 Valencia 9 Celta Vigo 10 Levante 11 Málaga 12 Rayo Vallecano 13 Getafe 14 Espanyol 15 Granada 16 Elche 17 Almería 18 Osasuna (R) 19 Valladolid (R) 20 Betis (R)
 - **TOP FACT**

3

Gareth Bale's home debut for Real on September 28, 2013 was memorable for the wrong reasons. Diego Costa scored the only goal as Atlético beat them for the first time in 1<u>4 years!</u>



Pts

90

87

87

70

63

59

59

49 49

48

45

43

42

42

41 40

40

39

36

25

-7

-34

-19

-10

-24

-20

-28

-30

-22

-42

GD

26

33

38

39

52

44

55

53

43

80

51

56

50

71

62

60

78

+51

+67

+66

+27

GF

77

100

104

66

69 60 62

51

49

35

39

46

35

41 32

30

43

32

38

36

D

6

6

6

10

11

10

4

5

8

13

11

17

14 12 9

17 21

18

18

21

16

20

19

16

25

5 13 7

9

15

W

28

27

27

20

18

16

13

14

12

12

38

38

38

38

38

38

38

38

38 38

38

38

38

38

38

38

WHAT HAPPENED NEXT?

The following season, league leaders **Barcelona** went to **Atlético**'s ground for the last match. They needed to win to make sure of the championship. It was exactly one year since Atlético's draw at the Nou Camp! This time Barcelona won 1-0 to become La Liga winners, two points ahead of Real Madrid. Atlético were third, 16 points behind the champions.

Two weeks later Barcelona won the Spanish Cup, beating Athletic Bilbao 3-1 in the final.

They completed a treble with another 3-1 win over Juventus in the Champions League final.

DID YOU KNOW

The Spanish league awards a trophy to the goalkeeper who had conceded the fewest goals. This season it was won by Thibaut Courtois of Atlético Madrid!

LA LIGA 2013-14

ERBAIJAN

League Atlético Madrid Spanish Cup Real Madrid Top Scorer Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid (31) Player of the Year Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid Coach of the Year Diego Simeone, Atlético Madrid

